Hello all.

Riding my bike (literally) and taking pictures

So I’m finally writing my first post from Japan.

I switched over to this new blog because I still want to keep my other one as a place to promote things I like.  I won’t be posting there as much as I was (obviously since I haven’t written since May or something ridiculous like that) but I still wanted this to be more of a personal blog just to keep in touch with family (I know, very original.)

So I’m in Japan!  Actually I’m a bit over two weeks into my second living adventure in Japan.  My first one was in Osaka but this time I live in West Tokyo about 25 minutes from the central loop in Tokyo.

My preschool

I’m currently working at a small international preschool which allows me to continue my love of working with children.  I get to wear casual day cloths and I am only about 5 minutes away from my work so my days don’t feel very Japanese-esque (aka working all the time and having to wear suits everyday).  It’s a lot different than my experience with the YMCA or NOVA for that matter so it will take some getting used to but it’s still a lot of fun.  It’s also going to be a good challenge for me.  I really need to open that creative attic that has been locked up for so long.

My guest house

Currently I’m living in a guest house which is ma-ma (so-so).  I actually love my room but there are definitely aspects of the house I would change (like the daily meetings with cockroaches (’tis the season), although thankfully no where near my room).  There’s a couple people at my guest house that I’d like to hang out with a bit more but it seems they do work Japanese-esqe days so it doesn’t happen that much.  But when it does, it’s cool.  Thankfully about no one in my guest house speaks English so I get a lot of Japanese practice in at night (during the day I don’t get much).  I would like to meet more people… like people I would actually hang out with but that will come.

Kichijoji is a great neighborhood a couple stations down from mine.  Once I move out of the guest house perhaps I’ll try and live a bit closer to that neighborhood.

Since being here I’ve been to two jazz shows and a plan to attend another on Thursday.  My first show was free (thanks to my friend Warren Wolf), that show was Christian McBride.  Of course the show was wonderful but it was even more special to see Warren after like seven years of not meeting!  Great to meet old friends.  The second show was free too (Thanks to Takashi as a birthday present).  That was the Tokyo Jazz Festival.  I really enjoyed the McCoy Tyner Trio (although I could have done without John Scofield – like him but like piano trios better) and Junko Onishi.  Hiromi Uehara was sold out.  The show on Thursday is the Yasumasa Trio.  Looking forward to that one because it’s on a much smaller level than the others and I’ll get to meet some people and hang a bit.

Near my house and work

My 30th birthday just passed and it was very nice.  Slept in, talked to my twin on the phone, walked around central Tokyo, ate at a fancy restaurant that spun (one hour for a full rotation) and went to the Jazz Festival.   The restaurant was really nice.  A live piano player was there and because the restaurant spun she kept getting closer and closer to us as we ate.  At about the same time I finished my main entree the piano player was right next to me and she started playing Happy Birthday!  Aw!  They brought cake with the special “Happy Birthday Devom” announcement to boot.  Haha.  It couldn’t have happened any other way in Japan.  Very nice.

This weekend is my preschool’s Art Exhibit so I have to work both Sat. and Sun and then another birthday party (guest house) on Sunday night!  Very thankful.

I hardly feel so old. 🙂

Well, that’s about it for now.  I hope everyone is well.

This entry was published on September 6, 2009 at 2:14 am. It’s filed under i forgot to give this one a category and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Hello all.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. I really enjoyed your report, because I was very curious about what you were doing and now I know! Wow, so much jazz! Fantastic. I loved the story about the revolving pianist. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    Joakim, in Sweden, told me about Hiromi. She is so awesome.
    Devon, continue to enjoy and explore!!

  3. I’m happy about the new blog and another way to keep in touch. Yatta!

  4. yay for a new blog to read! love the pic of the preschool, very nice!

    • bemyduende on said:

      I know, isn’t it what we all need? haha, having so much extra time and all~! HA! Although I don’t comment much, I enjoy your blog too so thanks for coming over!

Leave a Reply

