Say That Again!

Guest House Message Board

In a previous post I spoke about why I live and continue to stay in a guest house.  Living so far away from family, friends and familiar things, it has definitely become my home away from home.  So for this post, I think I`ll continue on with that lovey-dovey sort of feeling and tell you another benefit of living in a guest house.

When I first moved to Tokyo I lived in another Oak House.  Smaller, older and a lot closer to my work!  But despite the building having a bit more character than my current location, the people lacked the flair I was looking for in my roommates.  They were all nice enough but tended to arrive home and go straight to their rooms (perhaps due to all rooms having their own televisions…).  Nonetheless, other than the pay check I was to receive, I came to Japan for one main reason and that was to study Japanese!  So roommates that didn`t exactly like communication were a problem.  That is when I moved to Nishi-Tokyo and boy, is it different!  It`s like night and day!  Here, there are a lot younger people and most people are interested in meeting the people they are living with.  Everyone seems to enjoy whooping it up in the lounge.  It`s nice.

Although the number of English speakers has risen a bit recently, the majority of housemates are non-English speakers giving me ample “study” time at night.  Also with three different communication boards, my reading skills are also put into training.  And while sometimes details are lost on me (don`t sweat the small stuff, right?), I wouldn`t have it any other way.  Considering I spend my week days speaking English, the guest house gives me the opportunity to not only improve on my Japanese but also gives me that exhilarating feeling of “I live in Japan!” that I so love.
This entry was published on November 3, 2010 at 1:29 pm and is filed under i forgot to give this one a category. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Say That Again!

  1. It’s great that you have the opportunity to speak so much Japanese at your guesthouse – my image of them was always more that they’d be full of native English speakers. Is it mostly people from other countries and your common language is Japanese or are there Japanese people staying there too? I think I would have liked to stay in one had I come to Tokyo by myself but I would have hated it if everyone went off to their own rooms like your other place!

Leave a Reply

